The Sidebar

News from Texas Tech University School of Law

April Faculty Scholarship

April 2019


Professor Gerry W. Beyer’s 2019 Supplements released for Volumes 13-15 of West’s Texas Forms—Real Property. GERRY W.BEYER, 13-15 WEST’S TEXAS FORMS – REAL PROPERTY (2019 Supps.).

Professor Brie Sherwin’s latest article After the Storm: The Importance of Acknowledging Environmental Justice in Sustainable Development and Disaster Preparedness, will be published this month in the Duke Environmental Law & Policy Forum.


On April 26, 2019, Horn Professor Victoria Sutton presented at the Online Learning and the Future of Legal Education Conference at Syracuse University College of Law. She also contributed an invited article for the Syracuse Law Review on the subject of her presentation, a comparative study of e-learning and traditional law courses among law students.

On April 23, 2019, Professor Gerry W. Beyer was the guest speaker at the April meeting of the Probate, Trusts, and Estates Section of the Dallas Bar Association. He discussed recent judicial developments relating to the Texas law of intestacy, wills, estate administration, trusts, and other estate planning matters. Prof. Beyer’s article, Morals From the Courthouse: A Study of Recent Texas Cases Impacting the Wills, Probate, and Trusts Practice accompanied his presentation.

On April 19, 2019, Professor Tracy Hresko Pearl presented her paper, Hands on the Wheel: A Call for Greater Regulation of Semi-Autonomous Cars, at the 2019 meeting of the Pop Culture Association in Washington, DC.

On April 15, 2019, Professor Tracy Hresko Pearl was the featured guest on the podcast Robotics Through Science Fiction, hosted by Professor Robin Murphy.

On April 12, 2019, Professor Gerry W. Beyer traveled to McKinney, Texas and the Collin County Courthouse where he was invited to speak for the Estate Planning/Probate Section of the Collin County Bar Association. His presentation and accompanying article were entitled Morals From the Courthouse: A Study of Recent Texas Cases Impacting the Wills, Probate, and Trust Practice.

On April 1, at the request of Rep. Dustin Burrows (’04), Professor Rob Sherwin testified before the Texas House of Representatives Judiciary & Civil Jurisprudence Committee about proposed changes to the Texas Citizens Participation Act—Texas’s increasingly controversial “Anti-SLAPP” statute originally passed in 2011.


Adjunct Professor Chuck Bubany has been reappointed by Sharon Keller, Presiding Judge of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, to serve his third term as a member of the Commission to Study Certain Penal Laws originally created by the Texas Legislature in 2015. The commission’s charge is to review and evaluate criminal laws outside the Penal Code and to make recommendations for their amendment or repeal as appropriate in a final report to the legislature not later than November 1, 2020.

Professor Tracy Hresko Pearl was elected to the Texas Tech University Faculty Grievance Panel. The Faculty Grievance Panel hears grievances of faculty members, except those grievances related to tenure or termination, and advises the president on the disposition of those grievances. Professor Pearl’s two-year term will begin in September.


Professor Eric Chiappinelli was awarded the Texas Tech University President’s Excellence in Teaching Award at the Faculty Honors Convocation on April 17, 2019.

Associate Dean Wendy-Adele Humphrey was honored at the annual President’s Excellence Awards ceremony for her commitment to advancing diversity and promoting equity and inclusive excellence at Texas Tech University. The awards were created by the Office of the President and administered by the Division of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion.

Professor Tracy Hresko Pearl was recognized by Texas Tech University with a 2019 President’s Excellence in Research Professorship. The professorship lasts for a term of three years.

NAMI-Texas was just awarded a grant from the Texas Bar Foundation to fund publication of a new, sixth edition of Horn Professor Brian Shannon’s guide book, Texas Criminal Procedure & the Offender with Mental Illness.

Horn Professor Brian Shannon has been awarded a 2019 Barnie E. Rushing Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research Award in the social science, humanities, and creative arts disciplines. It is only the second time in the award’s history for a law professor to receive the award, and Professor Shannon is the first since Professor Tom Baker in 1996-97. See and

Professor Brie Sherwin was selected as an “Outstanding Teacher of the Year” for the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences by the Public Health students. This award is sponsored by the HSC Student Senate and is designed to honor faculty members who are knowledgeable, enthusiastic, patient, and empathetic.

Professor Brie Sherwin was recognized by Texas Tech University with a 2019 President’s Excellence in Research Professorship. The professorship lasts for a term of three years.

Visit The Reporter for a full compilation of faculty publications, citations, and news accomplishments for the month of March.

Share this: