The Sidebar

News from Texas Tech University School of Law

Texas Tech Law Recognizes Distinguished Alumni during 15th Annual Scholarship Gala

April 2019

On Saturday, March 3, about 270 Texas Tech Law alumni, faculty, staff, students, and friends gathered for the 15th Annual Scholarship Gala at the Overton Hotel and Conference Center.

Dean Jack Wade Nowlin opened with welcoming remarks and a special recognition of the 14 former recipients of the Distinguished Alumni and Distinguished Service awards in attendance.

The evening celebrated the accomplishments and contributions of the Law School’s students, faculty, and alumni. In particular, the Law School honored the 2018 Distinguished Alumni, Distinguished Service, and Distinguished Humanitarian Award recipients.

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes alumni who have made significant contributions to the bench, bar, or community, and whose accomplishments and careers have brought credit to the law school and to the legal profession as a whole. The 2018 honorees were The Honorable Greg Fouratt ’95, Tonya Johannsen ’83, and David Poole ’88.

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes alumni who have devoted extraordinary service to the Law School. The 2018 honorees were M.C. Carrington ’82, Suzan Fenner ’72, and The Honorable Craig Smith ’76.

The Distinguished Humanitarian Award recognizes alumni who, over the course of their careers, have devoted significant time and energy to causes and projects that benefit the greater community and improve society. The 2018 honorees were Robert L. Duncan ’81 and J. David Nelson ’76.

Law School Foundation Board President Tom Hall ’81 closed the program with a focus on planned giving and the importance of supporting student scholarships. With his call to action and the evening’s sponsors, over $130,000 was transferred to student scholarships. This success helps to ensure the best and the brightest students continue coming to Texas Tech Law.

Please make plans to join fellow alumni at the 16th Annual Scholarship Gala on Saturday, March 7, 2020!

Click here to see photos from the evening.

Share this: