The Sidebar

News from Texas Tech University School of Law

Honors and Awards Ceremony

April 2014

Honors and Awards

[left to right] Lubbock County Young Lawyers Association Past President Dax Voss, retired U.S. Bankruptcy Judge John Akard, Bucky Hacker (’14), and Dean Darby Dickerson.

The top echelon of Texas Tech Law students was recognized on April 10 during the Honors and Awards Ceremony.

Dean Darby Dickerson welcomed students and their guests, along with law school faculty and staff. “Today we recognize the very best of our wonderful student body,” said Dickerson.

Dean Dickerson and Associate Dean Jarod Gonzalez presented the first group of awards, including Order of the Coif, Phi Kappa Phi, the National Order of Scribes, the “Who’s Who” list of students at American universities and colleges, the executive boards of student-run law journals and the Board of Barristers, and the top grade awards.

Retired U.S. Bankruptcy Judge John Akard and Lubbock County Young Lawyers Association Past President Dax Voss presented one of the top grade awards. The American Bankruptcy Institute Medal of Excellence was issued to Bucky Hacker (’14) to recognize his promise in a future bankruptcy practice career. Judge Akard later presented one of the individual achievement awards, established by the West Texas Bankruptcy Bar in his honor, to Joseph Aguilar (’15).

New awards were offered this year by the Academy for Leadership in the Legal Profession (ALLP) and the Pro Bono Program.

Five students were recognized as ALLP Senior Fellows for completing a substantial leadership project in the third and final phase of the Academy. One of those students was Anh Tran (’14), who created an Angel Tree adorned with ornaments representing unattended cases at the Dallas Volunteer Attorney Program. Thanks to her Angel Tree, three unattended cases were picked up on behalf of individuals who fall below 125% of the federal poverty guidelines. Three students were recognized as ALLP Associates for their leadership studies during phase two of the Academy.

The Pro Bono Dean’s Award recognized a student who performed more than 100 hours of pro bono work during the year. The Excellence and Honors Awards recognized students who performed at least 50 and 30 hours of pro bono work, respectively.

Later in the ceremony, Professor Wendy Humphrey (’01) presented the Judge Ken G. Spencer Award, which honors a student “whose propensity to survive in law school by dogged persistence appeals to the admiration of the faculty,” to Lorna McMillion (’14). Humphrey is a past recipient of the award.

After additional applause for all those recognized, guests gathered in the Lanier Atrium for a reception following the ceremony.

Share this: